SouthSounds Sweetness

Hey y’all. Long time no chat!

I don’t even know where to begin with this one! As I sit here, on a high from a whirlwind of weekend, I guess I’ll just start writing and tell ya about it.

Remember that time that I talked about how things happen, they make no sense, but then they make all the sense in the world? This weekend… well let me just put it this way- it made all the sense in the world.

Over the past few months, I have had the incredible privilege of working with SouthSounds Music Festival. Man oh man, has it been a fun ride. After lots of hard work, this weekend was the grand finale.

I was raised on good music and have been to my fair share of concerts and music festivals, but nothing, I mean nothing, compares to the experience that filled these three days. Yes, the music was INCREDIBLE and the weather was perfect, but there was something far greater. It was a presence that completely flooded Downtown Mobile. It was a feeling that was full of so much peace… everything just felt right. Everyone was smiling, everyone was dancing. Everyone was having the time of their life.

No matter what is going on in your life, music has the power to bring you joy. It’s a force that unites people all over the world. It’s a bond. It’s a relationship. It’s a love.

The people who made this weekend so special, are ones that I believe will inspire me forever and ever. From working with Suzanne and Gabe Fleet, to becoming besties with band members, I constantly felt so honored to be working amongst y’all. The people that made this festival happen, did not have to put in nearly as much hard work as they did. Trust me, they have plenty of other jobs to be doing. But here’s the thing… they do it because they LOVE it. This festival was sewn together with love. Pure love. And that my friends is what creates an aura that is 100% indescribable.

There were times where I was running all over town so much that my feet hurt so bad I didn’t think I could take another step. But the funny thing is, no matter how badly those blue suede boots were killing me, I would have sprinted for miles.  I didn’t want to leave, and I didn’t want it to be over when I woke up this morning. After sleeping through my alarm for two hours (yes, two hours) I woke up feeling like a big part of me was missing.

Thank you to every single person who gave me a taste of what it’s like to love your “work” so much that you never want it to end. I’m thankful for the peace that this music-filled, giant dance-party gave to me. To the incredible people who I spent it with – thank you and I love that we all embrace the same mission… to make people smile bigger than they ever thought they could. I know I did.

Keep on smilin’ yall. And keep on dancin’. Promise me.

IMG_8271

IMG_7618

IMG_7881

IMG_8206

IMG_7699

All my love and lipstick,

Riley

 

Leave a Reply

