przygoda

Hello there! I am writing after a Fall break like never before. I recently returned from an incredible 6 days in Poland. I have to admit, Poland is a place that I never imagined loving so much. Poland is a BEAUTIFUL place and I cannot wait to return some day.

Our journey to Poland started with a bang. When we arrived at the airport, we found out that there was a strike and our flight had been delayed until 11:30 pm. So, day one of this adventure consisted of 10 hours in the Bologna Airport. We finally arrived in Krakow, Poland around 1:15am and headed to the Goodbye Lenin Hostel that would be our home for the next two nights.

With only a few hours of sleep, on Friday morning we headed off to Auschwitz Concentration Camp. I am not sure that I will ever be able to fully fathom this experience. Words could never describe the feelings from walking through this place. Walking through streets where over one million prisoners once walked, standing in gas chambers where people lost their lives while thinking they were going to get a shower, standing on the railroad platforms where people were separated from their families and stripped of their belongings… the day was filled with frightening emotions. As I stood there in Birkenau, the death camp, I started to complain about how cold I was. I reminded myself that these people were wearing nothing but thin, striped pajamas and it was below freezing. I was not cold.

During my few hours spent at this dreadful place, it was impossible to understand exactly where I was walking and what I was seeing. It is frightening that most of the facilities are still in fairly good condition. I felt guilty being a tourist in such a tragic place, but am thankful for the eye opening experience. All of my petty problems suddenly became irrelevant. This world is  a scary place. I am thankful that we serve a God who is so much greater than any dictator.

IMG_1796

IMG_1841

IMG_1815

the killing wall

IMG_1852IMG_1856

IMG_9885

gas chamber

IMG_9756

gas cans

IMG_9797 IMG_9784 IMG_9779 IMG_9772 IMG_9802 IMG_9763

Birkenau, the death camp

IMG_1861 IMG_1884

IMG_1876 IMG_1880

IMG_1874

Visiting Auschwitz was a life changing experience that has left me speechless. No words could describe the chills you get walking through this place.

That evening we returned to the beautiful city of Krakow. This place was right out of a storybook! We shopped around the Market, walked through the delightful city and had dinner at a Moroccan restaurant.

IMG_9961 IMG_9962

IMG_0028

IMG_9970

Next stop, Warsaw

IMG_0066 IMG_0080

 Warsaw Uprising Museum

IMG_0109 IMG_0133

IMG_0128

Our last stop in Poland was Torun. where we went to a conference on the immigration crisis.

IMG_0315

This is Jan. Jan has an incredible story about his journey to Italy from Afghanistan at a very young age. He now owns a delicious pizzeria right across the street from one of our classrooms. Such an inspiring man!

When we first arrived in Torun, we went straight to the Gingerbread museum which was right next door to our hotel. Torun is known for its gingerbread and it was surely delicious.

IMG_1920

IMG_1926

IMG_0178

We also stayed one block away from where Nicolaus Copernicus was born.

IMG_0336

Our last night in Poland consisted of a delicious Polish meal with all of the people from the conference.

IMG_0310 IMG_0311

Torun was the perfect place to end this Polish adventure! Who knew I would end up loving Poland so much!

Until next time, Poland

xoxo

Riley

Leave a Reply

