Summer in the City

Recently I was reunited with my favorite city. There’s nothing like an NYC adventure with the most fabulous lady I know (my mom).  Although we were only there for five days, we sure did a lot and it was full of never ending excitement and we never knew what was going to happen next.

We boarded the plane at 4:30am with barely any plans except to do whatever we wanted.

Well, the trip was certainly off to an exciting start when I met eyes with Ansel Elgort on the plane  as he was approaching the seat right in front of me. After asking for a selfie, I spent two and a half hours staring at the back of Augustus Waters’s head as he made music. After the plane landed we had a pretty lengthy conversation and if only I would have actually known what was happening during that point in time, I could probably remember everything we talked about. He did invite me to his music show and typed the information into my phone… so I’ll be saving that note for forever.

IMG_5241IMG_5255

Not sure that I even remember the cab ride to the hotel…

That night we saw Pippin and it was INCREDIBLE. If you haven’t seen it, put it on your list. From the acrobats to Fosse, there was just so much to look at. Some of my favorite lyrics from the show are “Oh, it’s time to start livin’, time to take a little from this world we’re given, time to take time, cause Spring will turn to Fall in just no time at all.” Indeed, it will, so what are you waiting for?

IMG_5279IMG_5278

We got to say hello to August from NYC and the weather could not have been better!

IMG_2795

We welcomed August in the best way possible…

IMG_5365

Dress: Susana Monaco

IMG_5353

After we did a little shopping on my favorite avenues, we had afternoon tea at Bergdorf’s 🙂

IMG_5396IMG_5397

Table for two by the window, please!

IMG_5386

Found a really cool Pop-Up store called “Love is Louder”. This is a movement focused on the fact that love is louder than any internal or external voice that can bring you down. IMG_5456IMG_5463

Played in Plaza a bit…

IMG_5446IMG_5430

That evening I did what I love most and played dress up in my favorite city again.

Top and Skirt: Alythea

Shoes:  Kelsi Dagger

IMG_5504IMG_5483

Les Mis is full of so many beautiful lyrics and lessons.

“To love another person is to see the face of God.”

IMG_5494

It was so cool to see Ramin Karimloo in Les Mis after seeing him in Love Never Dies in London several years ago.

IMG_5513

The next morning my mom got her haircut by the fabulous Celebrity Hairstylist, Carlos Otero. Carlos asked me to do a photo shoot the next morning. See, I told you we never knew what was going to happen next.

My rockstar mom and her new haircut

IMG_5541

If you are ever in NYC, make sure you go to the 9/11 memorial and the new museum. It was incredible.

IMG_5609 IMG_2894

We had the subway car all to ourselves… that’s a first!

IMG_5682

Time to play dress up again

Romper: Free People

Shoes: Kate Spade

IMG_5704 IMG_5753

I will spin in anything that even remotely twirls

IMG_5739

Violet, with Sutton Foster, was amazing!

IMG_5746

Off to the Upper East Side for the shoot… Lights, (Makeup, Hair) Camera, Action

I had to unleash my large, curly hair… the sad thing is, there is no product in it to make it curlier or bigger.

IMG_5789

Applying my favorite.

IMG_5809 IMG_5867

There was a lot of action: music, flashes, fans, etc…

IMG_5895IMG_5912

Thank you Carlos for the fabulous makeup and hair!

IMG_5803

I may or may not have gone to Soho with my hair like this… but it’s New York so who cares right?

Twas a lovely evening in Little Italy and Mom enjoyed her cannoli after sitting through a 5 hour photo shoot with me 🙂

IMG_5945

I had to

IMG_5932

We stumbled across Laduree Soho so of course we had to stop for tea!

IMG_5950 IMG_5957 IMG_5964 IMG_5956

During our last night, we could not help but spend a little time in Times Square with the 5 billion other people who also decided to do so. We chose to leave and go grab some cheesecake from one of our favorite NYC delis, the Roxy.

IMG_5981

We spent our last few hours in our favorite park

IMG_6004 IMG_3029 IMG_3046

Had to visit Chuck and Blair’s wedding spot 🙂

IMG_6052

Later that day I had to do one of my least favorite things… 😦

IMG_6055

This made it even more sad… No Ansel

IMG_6058

I am so thankful for a mom who loves adventure even more than I do. We sure do make a good team. From photo shoots, to late night cheesecake, to dancing down the street… I’d say that was a pretty fabulous adventure and even if we would have planned it, I’m not sure we could have planned a better one.

IMG_5500

Until next time NYC…

xoxo,

Riley

4 thoughts on “Summer in the City

  1. I am SO jealous that you got to see Sutton in Violet!! In 2009, the song I did for AJM was from Violet, so I’ve been in LOVE with the musical forever. My best friend and I went to NYC to see Sutton back in May, but she was sick the weekend we were in town. I was SO sad, but the show was still phenomenal! Ahh!

  2. Hey Riley! Just giving your site a shout out! I’m a devotee of Kathryn Morgan’s aka your best buddy and she asked all her fans to check out your site after the debut of her new YouTube channel. And so that’s what I’m doing! Love the humor and the down to earth nature of your blog. The details of your NYC trip were delightful! I love trips to the big apple! So fun. Thanks for sharing! I look forward to reading more and seeing your partnership with Kathryn in the blog world take off!

Leave a Reply

