Happy Birthday, Lipstick Diaries!

One year ago today, I wrote my first entry in my favorite diary.

I remember sitting in an apartment in NYC with my dear friend Katie after a long day of shopping and exploring. I decided that starting a blog would be a fun way to share some of my favorite things and my favorite moments…so that’s when The Lipstick Diaries came into play. I don’t think it took me very long to name it, due to the fact that lipstick is my most favorite thing ever. So, Katie taught me how to use the blog website and I began writing my first post. I wish I could always be sitting in my favorite city while writing my blog posts, but I do have to say, it was the perfect place with the perfect inspiration to begin my adventure that I like to call The Lipstick Diaries.

Today, one year later, although I am on the opposite end of the country and the sound of  constant sirens and a view of endless tall buildings has been replaced with the sound of my mom cooking and my green back yard, I am looking back over this year’s Lipstick Diaries adventures with a big smile on my face.

Here are a few of my favories 🙂

My very first post was entitled Street Style where I told my story about buying a dress on the street. That night I played dress up with  my cheap street dress by adding my favorite accessories and danced down the street to a broadway show. I still think street shopping a good way to find that unique item that you might not find anywhere else!

“One morning as I was strolling the streets of NYC, I happened upon a cute little street fair. You know, they ones with the not so appealing food and the ever so lovely tourist stands with mountains of I Love NY t-shirts… But this time a cute little rack of dresses caught my eye.”  (July 2013)

IMG_3306IMG_3337

The remainder of my NYC posts consisted of more adventures including an inspirational ballet class (A Real Ballerina), a tribute to the new prince (A Royal Day Indeed) and simply exploring my favorite while playing dress up.

IMG_5061IMG_5083

IMG_5164IMG_4674

IMG_4942IMG_4825

I also have enjoyed finding vintage treasures in Downtown Mobile and giving them a new story.

IMG_5476

Several adventures took place in California

imageIMG_0739

And of course I had to share my favorite lipstick colors

IMG_6543IMG_3641

I started college… I’d say that was a big adventure

IMG_7220

The beach was full of adventures

IMG_7734IMG_6788

and I danced with  my favorite dance partner.

IMG_8040

I played in the snow… in Mobile and NYC.

IMG_5860IMG_5165

I danced

IMG_8939

and laughed

IMG_0479

all while wearing lipstick… of course.

Happy 1st Birthday, The Lipstick Diaries! I have enjoyed every second of sharing chapters of my story, whether it be telling you what I like to wear or just sharing an experience that put a smile on my face. Who knows what the next year may hold, but I am so excited to find out.

Here’s to many more adventures!

cropped-img_3073.jpg

xoxo,

Riley

Leave a Reply

